1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Not with my rooster?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by tiffanya, Mar 30, 2011.

1. tiffanya

tiffanya Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    Reading the forum I've learned so many good ways to keep my flock, in particular my rooster happy and healthy, However, I can't imagine being able to do half of them to my rooster! I'm fairly new to having chickens, but being able to pick up my sussex rooster to do something like trim his nails is beyond me! He's not fond of my getting to close to him most of the time let alone picking him up. Anybody else like this? Any suggestions?

Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  2. Red&Yellow

Red&Yellow Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2009
    Frederick County, MD
    I don't about what exactly you read, but I'm pretty confident most people do not trim their roo's nails. I know I sure don't.
    To me, even if you keep chickens as pets, there is something that doesn't seem right about too much handling of roosters. Now, bantams maybe. But my three roosters are fairly standoffish, and two of them are about 10 lbs. If I need to handle them, I do. (though I do like to have them come close to me)
    If you're asking how to pick them up, well. There are many different ways, but I usually corner the roo and grab him on both sides of his body, my thumbs above his wings and other fingers near as I can get to his breastbone. If that isn't an option, you could always lure him close to you and swip realllllly quickly at his legs. Of course, if he does have sharp spurs, this could be bad. I have a scar on my palm becuase I didn't take that into account.