Obligation to Breeding Program Birds

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by HennyJenny, Jan 17, 2010.

1. HennyJenny

HennyJenny Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 26, 2009
    Bennington, NE
    So I have kind of an "ethical" / "moral" /"just plain displaying my ignorance" question regarding certain breeds of birds. I have some real interest in a couple of different types of birds that seem to me to be very new/developing breeds in the U.S. One is Black Copper Marans and the other is Lavender Orpingtons. I am wondering what those of you who breed those birds think the "breeding obligation" should be from the people that buy your eggs. In other words, you've committed to expanding these breeds and worked really hard at it. I buy hatching eggs from you and realize the fruits of of all the work you've done. I let those birds I hatch from your eggs breed doing some research regarding such things - but admittedly I am not an expert on the standards. I envision a couple of scenarios - one I end up with a bird that in someway doesn't meet the standard and I don't know or two I have a bird that doesn't meet the standard but I'm a wienie and I love bird and can't or won't cull it. If I sell or give those birds to someone else who breeds them (even with the caveat that I tell the person the bird doesn't meet the standard and shouldn't be bred) - what are your thoughts on that scenario given the work you have on done on your project birds?

Maybe I am overthinking it but here is why I ask the question: