OMG I think it's Marek's - now what? (Long, lots of questions, sorry)

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Momo, Jun 28, 2008.

1. Momo

Momo Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2008
    Nelson BC
    I'm a chicken newbie and very distressed because I'm 99% sure I have Marek's in my little flock. I got 30 EE chicks from a small breeder at Easter this year (I thought they were real Ameraucanas but they're not). At 4/5 weeks a couple of the pullets became suddenly weak with what looked like neurological problems; one of them had a weak neck and the other was unable to stand and just lay on her side for a couple of days. Thinking it was a vitamin deficiency (and maybe it was, but now I wonder), I treated with poly vi sol and they recovered quickly although one of them continued to walk sort of crouched down on her hocks for awhile.

They are now 3 months old. One pullet has been "sleepy" for well over a month; she eats and drinks etc but tends to hang around with her eyes partially closed and neck feathers a little ruffled, and she makes odd little movements with her neck that look like a mild neurological impairment. She stays inside the house all day and never goes out. Sometimes she stands with her head in the corner. Now there's a second pullet hanging out with her and acting the same way.