OMG we beat the statistics!!! :)

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by SpunkyChicken, Apr 14, 2009.

1. SpunkyChicken

SpunkyChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 1, 2009
    New Hampshire
    I just had a 100% hatch rate with shipped eggs, and it's my first time!!! You guys all had me worried 'cause I kept reading things like, "don't use expensive eggs on your first try, especially if they are shipped," "bantam orp eggs in particular are pretty sensitive to shipping," and "you're seriously using a still air LG on those eggs???" Haha you really have no idea how relieved (and surprised) I am. I have 11 healthy, rowdy chicks! I think it has a lot to do with the guy I bought them from though; he has a good rep with both his birds and his shipping. I'll have to drop him an email to thank him for being so awesome.

It appears that we have 1 splash, a couple blacks, and the rest are blues (pretty sure the parents are blues). It's neat because I showed full grown chicken pictures of each kind to my boyfriend before they started hatching, asking which one he preferred, and he had his heart set on a splash. So he got his wish! Here's a pic of the little guy:

[​IMG]

He also uploaded a couple hatching videos he recorded and edited for me since I wasn't there to actually see them. He's pretty much the greatest thing I could ask for, not only for helping me turn the eggs and monitor the temp while I was away during the week, but for spending several hours making the vids as well; I had no idea he was going to do that. I'm taking him out to a BIG dinner this weekend.