Ordered Turkeys Whatt happens if...

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by lnm03, Jun 9, 2010.

1. lnm03

lnm03 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 6, 2008
    OK, I ordered 6 burbon reds from Cackle hatchery rec'd 5/19 and three died. no big deal as they shipped more and i received new ones....BUT my first batch and second batch look COMPLETELY different! my first batch is feathering out WHITE! my 3 that I just got today are most likley burbon reds because the have some red in them where the first ones fuzz was yellow!

first group - what am I? any ideas?
    [​IMG]

received today
    [​IMG]

I'm new to turkeys but maybe i should have noticed this right away. I just thought they were yellow chicks that would feather out properly! boy was i wrong!!! Will they send me the correct order or am i stuck with what i have since i didnt notice it right away? Ive tried calling them but the line is busy!

2. Steve_of_sandspoultry

Steve_of_sandspoultry Overrun With Chickens

Call and or email them and send them the pics. That isn't a Bourbon red. I've heard a few reports this year of mixed orders and they made it right but I don't know which hatchery.

Steve

3. lnm03

Oct 6, 2008
    I finally got ahold of them and they told me to email pics of what ive gotten and a discription of what happened and they will get back with me.

In the meantime does anyone know what i received the first time?

edited to fix typos (sorry I only have 1 hand for 13 more days tendinitis)

Last edited: Jun 9, 2010
  4. Steve_of_sandspoultry

Either a Midget White or a White Holland. It doesn't look big or bulky enough to be a Broad Breasted White. The BBW's have very thick legs and are more rounder in shape.

Steve

5. lnm03

Oct 6, 2008
    Thanks Steve!!! I appreciate all your help/advice!!!!!!!!!!

6. Steve_of_sandspoultry

glad to help!

7. Lotsapaints

Lotsapaints Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2010
    Paso Robles, CA