Outdoor brooder size question

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by blessedmamato3, Jul 18, 2011.

1. blessedmamato3

blessedmamato3 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 11, 2011
    Hi all,

I want to take my chicks outside to better ventilation when they are a week old. It's hot here and doesn't drop below 90 at night.

Anyway, would a rectangular or square brooder be best? How tall should it be? I'll be caging in all sides, with scrap wood on the ends to help with drafts.

It's 6" of space per chick, right? Will this apply when they are in that transition period before going to the coop? They are 4 days now. So, if that's the case, I would need 10 square feet or would that be 10 linear feet (I have 20 chicks)?

Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  2. kira782

kira782 Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2011
    Littleton, Colorado
    I'm new to chicks so I don't have a whole lot of experience but what I have learner over the past 3 weeks is make your brooder as big as you can! The brooder I made for my 4 chicks has quickly been out grown. Now I have them outside during the day in a large wire dog crate (wrapped in hardware wire) and back in the small one at night. But even the large dog crate is getting small for 4 chicks. I can't wait till the coop/run is finished next week!

3. Kaitie09

Kaitie09 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2009
    South Central, PA
    Do you have full grown chickens, or are these your first? If they are your first, you could put them directly into the coop once it is done.

If you have full grown chicken, you should wait until they are 5-6 weeks old. I just put two in that were 6 weeks old and they had a brooder that was 4x6 for themselves. If you need to keep them out I would suggest doing it as big as you can. I would try to give them 1sq ft per bird if possible, and put them out at 5-6 weeks or you will need a bigger one.

4. blessedmamato3

blessedmamato3 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 11, 2011