1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Oyster Shells and Grit?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by MyRedStarz, Jul 26, 2011.

1. MyRedStarz

MyRedStarz Out Of The Brooder

May 29, 2011
    Hi...Chicken Novice here! [​IMG]

I have 3 Red Star Hens, 16 weeks old. i know they will be laying very soon and my question is, once i start them on Oyster shells, should i continue giving Grit too or will the Shells do the job? Thanks for your response in advance!
    [​IMG]

2. saddina

saddina Internally Deranged

May 2, 2009
    Desert, CA
    Unless there is no sand/pebbles in thier run, you should be ok not giving grit. The shells dissolve and that's how they make eggshells.

3. Kimmiejean

Kimmiejean Out Of The Brooder

Apr 4, 2011
    I'm a newbie, but my understanding is the oyster shells DO NOT take the place of grit. Oyster shells are only provided to assist in egg production. Does that make sense??? [​IMG]

4. JodyJo

JodyJo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2010
    Colorado
    do they free range, if so they are getting grit, and eat it when they need it, is my understanding.
    I have 16 pullets, ranging from 16-18 weeks, no eggs yet, but soon! I will be giving them oyster shell on the side, they will
    eat it when they need it. (at least that is what I get from all these posts)

5. moetrout

moetrout Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    Milan, MI
    I free range my chickens but still offer both oyster shell and grit. I think sometimes they can't find large enough grit by free ranging. This way i am sure they are getting what they need. Grit is cheap.

6. heatherkh

heatherkh Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 21, 2011
    Clackamas, Oregon