Pekin ducks laying eggs in their pond?

LLHEET8586

Hatching
5 Years
Aug 15, 2014
I'm new to ducks... We have 2 female Pekin ducks that just started laying a few weeks ago. I free range them to an extent, my yard is fenced in. So they have decided to nest next to my porch steps... I have a bush on each side and so I have a best on each side. Only ONCE have I found an intact egg in one of the nests. The dogs and my hen (yes my hen) eat the eggs usually before I find them. Well now a lot of the time when I go to change my ducks small pond water there is egg shell in it! Also have found my ducks chowing down on their own egg shells they managed to steal from the other animals. So I had a theory they are laying them in the pond and just eating them right there. I would like to keep the eggs for myself, but everyone eats them! Any suggestions? And any other info I should know would be greatly appreciated! I know hens lay eggs later each day, are ducks the same? Thanks in advance.