Please help! New to ducks!

BlueMoon

Songster
12 Years
Oct 3, 2007
Scenic Verbank, NY
A young duck appears to have broken her leg, probably at the knee joint. I've put vet wrap around it, trying to bend the leg a bit.

The foot had been closed up before I bandaged it - now it's splayed open. I hope that is a good thing. The bandage is not very tight - tight enough that her leg can be stood on though, when she chooses.

The duck isn't socialized with people. She's in the garage, with a sick hen and three broody hens, and a hen with three chicks. She's in a dog crate, with cracked corn, apple, leaves, water and water with some lettuce and baby aspirin.

I don't think I can figure out which is her mate - but would bringing in another duck be good for her?

What are good things to feed ducks? I'm worried she's not eating enough.

I'm rather new to ducks and really appreciate any help or thoughts about how to make her more comfortable.

You're an angel to help her!
hugs.gif
I don't know a lot about ducks myself but I do know they can eat regular layer feed or UNMEDICATED chick starter. I've been taking care of two ducks where I work and they LOVE dandilion greens and clover which I gather for them each morning. I swear, they'd eat it all day long if I were their slave. Just try putting it in the duck's water. She will eat it from there. And put her food (chicken food) near the water too. Hopefully, somebody can give you more info. Let us know how the little sweety is doing.

Ellen