Please help probable Blackhead disease in Peafowl sorry (long introduction)

Flygirl1987

Chirping
Jun 6, 2023
Hi there! I am happy to be on this forum. I have been reading for months but am now writing my first post. I am new to birds, but have had every other animal possible I believe except large cats. I had a pet house raccoon who lived to be 18. I have shown Great Danes and now Great Pyrenees in AKC and gave three champions and have had both a dog and a bitch with Grand Champion Brinze titles. But that is not why I am here. I bought some Peafowl early in the year after my husband passed away unexpectedly. I grew up around Peafowl in Texas and have always wanted one or more. Now I have 26 adults and 16 from the 2023 hatch — some I bought from breeders and the others I hatched myself. I was told my birds were juvenile and would be producing any chicks. But the hens started laying and I purchased a cabinet incubator and even with all of my newbie mistakes hatched close to 20.

I have spent tens of thousands of dollars on buying Peafowl and having infrastructure and pens erected. I even have a 28 x 28 x 14 Geodosic dome for growing out yearlings. I read before I purchased the birds, and read a couple of hours a day either online or from books. I wormed all my birds with Panacur when I got them. I was told by the breeders to worm with Panacur once a year and Ivermectin once a year. I will also add that I did wildlife rehab for two years at a large sanctuary in NJ before moving to SC. I am also well versed in hygiene and cross contamination from my wildlife rehab training.