Poor Fertility

dheltzel

Crowing
10 Years
Nov 30, 2013
Pottstown, PA
I have a confined flock of 13 guineas and I'm getting 4 - 5 eggs a day, but the fertility has been around 20%. I figured they were young and it was cold when I started hatching back in Feb, but by now, those should not be factors anymore. I see a lot of chasing but no one gets injured. Any ideas why they are not producing more fertile eggs?

Might be the males are still fighting for dominance over females? If you have 5 females and 8 males they need to work out who gets who. I have the same problem but mine have worked it out. The males who have no females are much smaller than the dominant males. An ideal flock would have 2 - 3 females to 1 male. I think. I am no expert.

Sounds like the males are doing more chasing than mating... That's quite common especially in the first year. Sounds like your boys aren't ready to settle down yet. What is the male to female ratio? And how are you storing eggs before incubation?

Last batch was better, about 50% fertility. I think at least 6 of the 13 are females because I sometimes get 6 eggs in a single day. The fertility improvement may be mostly because they are now getting smarter about laying in the nest box instead of all over the run. It's time to pull a few males out of there and free range them. What is the "ideal" ratio of sexes in a group with 6 hens? How many males should I leave in there?

I have a band of 5 (old) free ranging guineas and a group of 6 young ones that I want to free range, but they aren't having any of that (just run in circles around the pen they were in and won't go join the older ones). If I cage a single male that is about a year old, with 6 young ones (2 - 3 months old) will they form a cohesive group to free range together, or will mayhem ensue?