possible crop impaction need advice

jeepgirl13

Crowing
Mar 13, 2013
Arizona
Two days ago one of my hens was "leaking" fluid our of her mouth occasionally when she.bent down. I felt her crop and it was full and had a grainy feel to it. I figured she was just gorging.
Yesterday it still had that grainy feel to it so I did some reasearch and read about the olive oil and apple cider vinegar. I gave her some bread soaked in oil and massaged her crop for a while. The grainy stuff I felt was loose and moving around, so I thought she was ok. I removed the feeder from the pen last night so I could compare her to the other birds.
Well this morning her crop is hard, a little smaller than a golf ball, and was still grainy.
What could this be? What should I do about it? Any help would.be appreciated. I am new at raising chickens and don't want to treat her for something that's not afflicting her.
Has anybody else had an issue like this? What did you do? I will be on frequently and can post pics, and give you any more information you might need. Thanks in advance

Well after more olive oil and bread I gave her another massage. This time I felt a noticeable difference in the amount of the grainy substance. It went down! After about 5-6 min of massaging I could barely feel anything and felt like I was rubbing the chicken instead of the crop, if that makes any sense.

I have offered her a small bowl of layer crumble soaked in warm water and olive oil. She ate a little and drank a little. She seems more upset from being in the house than anything. I can't blame her, I'm an outdoors girl as well. :D

Her poops are their huge normal selves today. Yesterday they were green, really tiny and really, really solid, with liquid. I thought it was weird.

Don't know if anyone has read this, but I will keep posting progress or regression as it comes up. If only for my own future references.