1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Possible rooster

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Tapsmom, Apr 12, 2011.

1. Tapsmom

Tapsmom Out Of The Brooder

Mar 13, 2011
    Hi,
    More questions from a newbie here. My 6 chicks are rapidly growing. My EE is larger than the the other 5 which includes 3 Buff Orpingtons, 1 Production Red and 1 Wyandotte. The Wyandotte and EE were straight run and we are beginning the wonder if the EE might be a rooster. Since I have never had chickens before and I have 2 little girls are there things I need to watch out for or do to make sure they don't get hurt if we do indeed have a rooster. I have no problem with having a rooster as long as it is not agressive. I am an accountant and after this Monday will be able to spend much more time with the chicks. So far the EE is the flightiest but one have shown any aggresive tendencies. They are about 5 weeks at this time. I will try to get some pics posted soon. I think we will probably be able to let them go outside for a short time soon so I can get some good ones:)

2. dadsdeercamp

dadsdeercamp Say goodnight gracie

Sep 24, 2010
    Mora MN.
    My rooster is very friendly and the first one to come say hi. He loves the grand kids never been mean to anyone.
    [​IMG]

3. miss_thenorth

miss_thenorth Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 28, 2007
    SW Ont, Canada
    If your rooster is going to be aggressive, it probably won' happen until he is about a year old. They reach their sexual maturity at about 6 months old, and it usually takes them a bit longer to get an attitude, if they are going to get one. So, you'll be fine for a while at least.

4. Tapsmom

Tapsmom Out Of The Brooder

Mar 13, 2011