possible roosters and now have some questions!!!!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by mommy4cdjm, Aug 6, 2009.

1. mommy4cdjm

mommy4cdjm In the Brooder

May 14, 2009
    I posted in the other section about 2 of my birds. Seems 2 of my 8 may be roosters. So I am new to this and have no clue about roosters. I have read so much but always skipped info on roosters since they are illegal here. So now I have a few questions (which may be very dumb [​IMG] )

first off how old are they when they start crowing and are all of them loud? mine are a little more then 3 mths now and haven't heard a peep from them.

Next can 2 roos live together?

also will I end up with babies having a Roo around?

I really don't want to give them up. My children are quite attached and to be honest so am I but if they start crowing and neighbors complain they will have to go.

Thanks for any advice!!

Heather

2. popcornpuppy

popcornpuppy Songster

Jun 19, 2009
    Holland, Massachusetts
    The age at when a rooster crows will vary greatly depening on the breed and the roo's personality. I have read some posts that say their roo's crowed at one week old, some say as late as 6 or 7 months and some who have had a roo that has never made a peep.
    My Rhode Island Red roos crowed around 15 weeks ( if I remember correctly).
    As for your next question about 2 boys living together........ how many hens do you have? The rooster to hen ratio is 10 to 1. If there are not enough girls to keep the boys busy, they will definately fight over the girls once they reach sexaull maturity.
    Lastly, you will only have baby chicks if you hatch out the eggs or a broody hen hatches them out. It takes 21 days for an egg to hatch so just remove them once the hen lays them. Fertile eggs are perfectly fine to eat and are no different from infertile eggs in regards to being edible.

3. Over Easy in Adna

Over Easy in Adna Songster

Feb 1, 2009
    Adna Washington