Possum stalking chickens!

Never ever had a problem with predators in my 7 years of owning chickens. I got a huge Possum coming every night around their run and coop. Husband has been working while he shows up and I'm not good with a gun. So my question is are they good at getting in? He looks lazy moves slow.

Did you have any luck at getting rid of your possum? What did you finally do?

I had the same thing happen to me today. Darn thing was just wandering around checking out my girls at about 5pm like I wasn't standing right there watching it. They aren't the brightest creatures. But my possum won't be back - lead poisoning.

Did you have any luck at getting rid of your possum? What did you finally do?

I had the same thing happen to me today. Darn thing was just wandering around checking out my girls at about 5pm like I wasn't standing right there watching it. They aren't the brightest creatures. But my possum won't be back - lead poisoning.
He eventually went away on his own. I set out a trap and he just never came back! Thank God!

He eventually went away on his own. I set out a trap and he just never came back! Thank God!
If your Run, coop are secure enough animals (predators) will come by. If there is no meal they will move on eventually.
Possum are more opportunist, not that a possum will not attack or eat a chicken. Given the chance a possum will. A adult possum will.
I notice the the bottom of your run. Looks like brick or block. If the brick or block is not fastened it is possible a animal could pull the brick, dig make it loose than pull it. Raccoon are pretty crafty that way.
The biggest thing you can do is get a game camera, you might be surprised what animals come lurking about at night.