prefabricated coop with custom run?

chicagochick

Hatching
8 Years
Jan 1, 2012
Hello BYC community!
Anyone have any experience with a prefabricated coop and then modifying with your own run? I'm in an Urban (Chicago) environment and need a coop suitable for 4 large breed chickens. I would like an attached run but have not had much luck finding anything that is both asthetically pleasing and the size that I'm hoping for. I love "the garden coop" (www.thegardencoop.com) and think it would be perfect for my chickens and would fit the look of my backyard but am intimidated by the construction, I have zero experience building anything besides 6 inch tall lincoln log houses.
My other option is to place an add on craigs list looking for someone with chicken experience to pay to put together a coop for me.
I hope to have the chicks at the end of February (got my brooder setup ready) so my coop clock is ticking!

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

I had never built anything myself either, but tackled building a chicken coop and run on my own, and with no plans, to boot! It came out fine (not perfectly square, but who cares?), and I learned a lot throughout the process. I was too scared of cutting off my fingers to use a power saw, so I used only a handsaw and an electric drill/screwdriver.

I agree with you about the garden coop setup, and would encourage you to try building it yourself. Use screws, instead of nails. It's much easier to fix your mistakes that way. If you don't fancy tackling the construction yourself, you certainly could buy the garden coop plans and find a local handyperson to build it for you. This is what I did when I wanted to build a shed size coop, although I did add the attached run to it myself.

The one bit of advice I would give you is not to scrimp on size. I ended up building three set ups before I finally got something I was satisfied with. It would have been so much easier (not to mention cheaper) to build big to begin with.