Profit

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by chicagochica5, Mar 20, 2013.

1. chicagochica5

chicagochica5 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 12, 2013
    Iowa
    Is there any money in raising Cornish X rocks and then selling them?
    If you are doing it.
    How much do you make on it?
    How much do you sell the chickens for?
    I was thinking of selling mine 9 dollars for a whole bird.
    to cheap?
    thank you

2. bigredfeather

bigredfeather Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    Yorkshire, Ohio
    If you raise them on pasture there is money to be made, as that sets them apart from others. I also raise mine on a soy free ration which makes them even more of a specialty that sets them apart and increases their value. I am selling mine for $5.50/pound this year and I'll bet I will sell out. That said, I've been doing them for a few years and have a customer base established.

Good Luck!

3. pbjls

pbjls Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2013
    In order to sell them at 9.00 dollars you would have to be feeding very cheap feed to make any money at all. the chicks will be around 1.50 each. It will take about 15lbs of feed. If you can get your feed for 500.00 per ton(which I doubt) that would be 3.75 per bird. You will spend money on feeders, waterers, brooders, and electricity. If you raise them on pasture you will need some sort of field pen and or fencing. When it is time to butcher if you are doing any quantity then you will need to either pay someone, buy processing equipment, or find a coop that rents it out (I have seen this for 50.00/day). You will need propane for the scalder, ice for the chill tank, and bags to package the birds in. This stuff all adds up.

Just the consumables for 50 birds would be
    chicks75.00
    feed 190.00
    propane 10.00
    ice 25.00
    rental 50.00
    shrink bags 12.50
    total 365.00