Pullets Beginning to Lay Eggs

mydakota

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jun 27, 2010
I am fairly new to chickens--just got my girls this spring. My flock consists of 3 regular laying hens, 2 older pullets that either just started laying or should be laying soon, and 2 younger pullets that I don't think could be laying yet. (My Wyandotte COULD be laying, but she would be pretty young for it). Anyway, I am pretty sure that my older BR pullet started laying a couple of weeks ago. I found one VERY small and oddly colored egg on the dirt in the chicken yard. A few days after that, I found a slightly larger egg on the dirt on the other side of the yard. After that, I started finding smallish (but normal sized) eggs in the laying boxes that looked slightly "cone-headed". I am guessing those are hers, and that she is starting to lay more normal sized eggs. Up until yesterday, I have still been waiting for my RIR pullet to start laying. She is about the same age and size as my BR. Yesterday morning, I went out to open up the henhouse, and in one of the nesting boxes was not one, but TWO very small eggs! I think the next one to start laying must be my RIR, but is it possible that she could lay 2 eggs in one day? Would my BR go back to laying those very small eggs after laying a couple of more-or-less normal eggs? Could the second pullet egg be my Gold Laced Wyandotte pullet, even though she is not quite 5 months and is not yet full sized? I was not at all surprised that I would find a small egg like that, as I was expecting Lucy to start laying any time now. I was just very surprised to find 2 of them. Have any of you all seen this in any of your pullets?