Quail laied one egg and stopped.......

happyniu

Hatching
May 5, 2023
Hi all.

I'm a newbie to the quails. I've raised them from eggs and there 2 quails 8 weeks old(one male and one female), 6 quails 5 weeks old(2 males and 4 females).
They were kept with baby chicks since they were born, then the chickens were moved out 2 weeks ago, and the quails were moved into a wired genie pig pen kept in the garage.

Then my 8 week hen laid an egg last week!(when she was 7 weeks old).

2 days before she laid the egg, just after they were moved to the new pen, I could see the difference in her and I could tell that she was going to lay. She was acting anxiously running around and her butt was in contraction mode.... So I waited, and waited, for hours......then I went off to bed.

The next day, it's the same all day.......

Finally, on the morning of the third day, I found an egg on the wired floor! I was so excited and thought I would expect an egg each day from then. But I was wrong.

The actions are the same each day, she was always in that contraction mode and running around, didn't rest much. And she started some other signs like building a nest? I put 2 small cardboard box filled with saw shavings for her to lay eggs. She was very carefully choosing the shaving that she wanted and put them in a certain way. She would go into each laying box for a few seconds and come out, once I even saw her do the "singing“, but still nothing. I've checked her tummy, no eggs stuck there either.

It's been a week now. Still no more eggs, and one of my five week hen start having that contraction mode as well. It starts to concern me now if that is the sign of laying eggs, or if it's a sign of some infection.

Or should I just wait......

BTW, in the aftnoon of I found the first egg, I found this on the edge of the cage. is this an unformed egg?
1683328469437.png