Question about Duck Eggs

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by DanceswLabs, Aug 11, 2010.

1. DanceswLabs

DanceswLabs Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 6, 2010
    Wake County, NC
    I am new to chickens, and I am planning to get ducks soon. I want to get a few Indian Runners, because I had heard that duck eggs are wonderful. Well, last night, I ordered a book on my kindle called "Raising Ducks and Geese" by John Vivian. It is a Storey Country wisdom Bulletin. The author of this booklet didn't seem to think that duck eggs were very tasty. He said they used them for baking, but that some can even have a fishy taste from ducks that root around in ponds. Has anyone read this booklet? What do you all think about the taste of duck eggs?

Jeany

2. DarkWolf

DarkWolf Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 11, 2008
    Murray Kentucky
    Wow... That's not a very good perspective on duck eggs to give. Though, it certainly is subjective and some people do think differently of them. But then, they do the same for fresh chicken eggs.

Basically goes like this..

Store bought chicken eggs -> flavorless rubber.
    Fresh chicken eggs -> smooth, stronger flavor.
    Duck eggs -> rich, even stronger flavor.

But I would not go so far as to describe them like that.

I'd suggest you track down an egg or two and try for yourself.. They are great for baking, for sure.

3. drdoolittle

drdoolittle Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2010
    NE Indiana