Question about raising chicks

Jessikers

Hatching
6 Years
Apr 23, 2013
Pinole, CA
Hi everyone!

I've never raised chicks before, but I am doing a lot of reading and have some questions.
Some of the reading material has said that you have to check on your chicks at least 5 times a day, all day long for 4 weeks at first.
So this would mean that I have to take a month off of work? If someone's working full time, maybe raising chicks isn't for them, huh?

What has your experience been in raising new chicks? Do you work from home or work part time, or what?

Thank you very much! :)
Jessikers

Well I'm a full time student, doing mostly online classes and I have a job but I don't get very many hours so I'm home a lot. My chicks are around 2.5 weeks, I've had them for 2 weeks 1 day. I check on them every morning, first thing, and again around lunch, and then in the evening around dinner time and again before I go to bed. I change water daily and pick bedding out of the hanging feeder. Mine are outside in a dog crate turned brooder so I can't really crawl in and have bonding time right now :) and the weather has been bad but starting Sunday it should be nice enough that I'm going to spend some time playing in the yard with them.

I've read that too about "Clearing your schedule for the first 4 weeks" I really think that means no trips, you have to check them every day and multiple times a day.

And
frow.gif
I'm a newbie too

-Katie

What have you been reading?! You might want to watch them all day long but you certainly don't have to. Chicks don't have to be a full-time job.