Question about turning eggs.

haruah

Hatching
10 Years
Jul 24, 2009
Hello, I'm not sure if this question has been answered or not. I looked around for a bit and couldn't find an exact answer so:

How many degrees do you turn the eggs when they're incubating?

I've read various website articles and they all say "put an X and O on two sides and turn 3x a day". I also read that the automatic egg turner turns eggs about 30 degrees every 4 hours, which means 180 degrees total in 24 hours.

So what I'm wondering is if I turn my eggs every 8 hours, should I turn them about 60 degrees or 180?

I am no expert, but my understanding is that you have an "X" on one side, and an "O" on the other side .... each time you turn, you have either the "X" showing, or the "O" showing. That way you always now if you have turned each egg.

when you lie them on their sides you roll them over 180 like kathyinmo said.

most egg turners tilt them rather than turn or roll them...they sit pointy end facing downwards and if you imagine a vertical 0 degrees line, tilt them 30 (or so) degrees to one side of the line, then 30 degrees to the other side (or to 330 degrees, whatever makes you happier).

see here: http://www.nrg-co.com/uk/images/negoce/incubateurs/andromeda.jpg

you
should be turning them 3 times a day minimum, it's not about number of degrees, it's about keeping them moving so they don't stick to the shell. 5 or 7 is better but turn them an odd number of times so they spend each night (not being turned) on alternate sides.

hth

Last edited:
post pics afterwards or we kill you
wink.png