Question on feeding chickens

DUCKGIRL89

Songster
8 Years
Apr 28, 2011
TN
I know this has been asked before probably. but I would like to know how much 2 or 3 silkie chickens would eat, along with 2 or 3 orpingtons.

Thanks in advance!
big_smile.png

Interesting.

I let my chickens eat as much as they want in that I put out layer pellets mixed with a very small amount of scratch.

By the end of the day all three bowls are about 3/4 gone.

I give them a treat of a vegetable or fruit and of course fresh water is always available.

It appears they eat when they want and stop when they are full.

I'm guessing this is OK because I have a couple of special pet chickens that are 8 and 10 years old. Seem healthy.

Last edited:
Hello co BYCs ~

Since I am new at this, I need some feedback. I first got my chickenswhen they were teenagers. Their former owner fed them Purina Layea Crumbles...so that is what I fed them until the first 50 pound bag was gone. A friend of mine suggested the pellets instead, stating that they were less wasteful. So, the next trip to the feed store I picked up the pellets. They seemed to like it for awhile, then seemed to slow down the amount they ate. Sooo I went back to the crumbles mixing it with the left over pellets. They don't seem to really eat as much as they did when I first got them. I fix them a bowl of fruit/vegatables/oatmeal etc. in the morning. Should I stop treating them with this until they begin to eat the crumbles or pellets again? My hens just started laying about a month ago and I am worried that they are not getting enough of the "right" nutrients. Show I be worried??

P.S. My chickens are allowed to free range for only an hour or two every few days, the rest of the time they are in their run and/or coop.
roll.png

Quote:
If you are going to give them the fruits and vegatables (oatmeal is a waste of time and good money: if you want to feed the oats then by Whole Oats) do it after they eat their feed.