Questions about clipping wings...

lbiermann

Hatching
10 Years
Feb 22, 2009
Hello all, I am brand new to the BYC forum and I am excited to have found you on the web! I do have a question for anyone willing to help:
We have had our little "flock" of three chickens almost a year. Everything has been fine until about a month ago. We live in a rural area where almost all the neighbors have animals (dogs, horses, goats, llamas, etc.). Our closest neighbor doesn't have any animals. Our chickens are allowed to roam during the day and they love it. Keep in mind that we live in a free range state and livestock (chickens included) are allowed to roam free according to the state statute. At first they stayed on our property. Then they got adventurous and started going onto our neighbors property. We talked to our neighbors about this development and they said they were fine with it, in fact they said the chickens were good for their yard. A couple of weeks ago the neighbors started complaining out of the blue, no warning. They were leaving threatening phone calls, etc. We were shocked since the last time they said anything about it they were happy to have them. Clearly the chickens have outstayed their welcome! However, we didn't have a setup to keep them contained. We have been rushing to build an enclosure that can keep them on our property. They got out a few times resulting in more threatening phone calls from the neighbors. After a few alterations we have managed to keep them in for a few days straight. However, they are not happy chickens! They are complaining and wanting out, and I feel bad to have to keep them in.
So, my question is: If I clip their wings, how high will they generally be able to fly still? Our entire property is fenced with mesh wire and we are hoping that if we clip their wings that might keep them on our property. Also, does anyone have any tricks up their sleeves to keep the chickens on the property?
Thank you for any advice anyone has for us!