Questions about introducing two new birds to my Mountain Quail

Discussion in 'Quail' started by val3442, Nov 5, 2011.

1. val3442

val3442 New Egg

Nov 5, 2011
    I have 5 mountain quail in an outdoor enclosure and in the next few days I'll be getting two new mountain quail to add in with them. My 5 mountains are a year and a half old (hatched May 2010) and the two new ones are 6 months (hatched May 2011). Of my 5 birds, three are male and two are female and the two new birds I'll be adding are both female so there will be a ratio of 3 males to 4 females all told. I only started raising mountains for the first time last year so i'm still a bit of a newbie -- what's the best way to introduce the 2 new quail to the others? should i be worried about them fighting or killing each other? I know mountains are particularly wild and territorial quail so I don't know quite what to expect. I've waited til November to get the new ones so that I can introduce them during their "off season" but I don't know if the age difference will cause problems or if they'll see the new birds as intruders on their established territory or something and attack or kill them as a result.
    Could I get some help?

My plan right now is to first keep the two new quail inside an adjacent pen where theyre separated by clear plexiglass and can see and hear each other and hopefully get used to each other and then after 3 or 4 days of keeping them like that I'd put them in together. Might also put down some greens or treats when joining them to distract them a little. Dunno how well this plan will work though so any tips or advice would be great! Finding these birds to begin with was quite a process so I'd hate to lose them by introducing them the wrong way.

2. bfrancis

bfrancis Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2010
    Okmulgee Co, Oklahoma
    I can't answer your question..never had any experience with Mountains...but you've come to the right place to get all your quail questions answered!