Raising Coturnix for meat

EverythingDucks

🙄🤚 𝙻𝚒𝚝𝚝𝚕𝚎 𝙳𝚞𝚌𝚔
Premium Feather Member
May 7, 2020
The Bermuda Triangle
I want to raise quail for meat but I'm very new to quail in general. I want to have some for eggs and some I'll hatch as well. How should I go about doing this? Will I need multiple cops? I have no idea how many I would need to be able to make a profit off of it. I don't want to have a large quail farm though. Is it worth it to sell their meat?

I want to raise quail for meat but I'm very new to quail in general. I want to have some for eggs and some I'll hatch as well. How should I go about doing this? Will I need multiple cops? I have no idea how many I would need to be able to make a profit off of it. I don't want to have a large quail farm though. Is it worth it to sell their meat?
i personally don’t sell the meat or eggs as I keep mainly for personal consumption. I keep around 60-75 adults year round in an outdoor aviary setting. I probably hatch an average of 150 per year and butcher 6-12 per month. processed quail sells for an average of $5 per bird packaged in 4 packs. commercial farms sometimes sell for less and more expensive areas can sometimes sell for more. eating eggs sell for $5-10 per carton and hatching eggs are typically around $1 per egg. I recommend that you watch some you tube videos from myshire farm and coturnix corner and check out the quail hatch a long thread by @Kiki. @Kiki , @Nabiki , and @RUNuts among others are a wealth of byc knowledge on raising and keeping quail.

No. It's not worth it unless you have many cages and many customers.

Lil D for real though... Check out Myshire's stuff.
He runs a contest for people like you.
Gives away stuff to get one started.
Tell him Muddy sent you.