Really really fed up :(

portiaari

In the Brooder
8 Years
Mar 23, 2011
Bristol
Hi, I posted a few days ago about my premature duckling Minnie, who sadly only lived 2 days and then passed on to the big duck pond in the sky. I had 4 more eggs in the ready to hatch incubator but no sign and so I decided to open the eggs and all of them are dead in shell including one that I moved over yesterday as there were no signs of life. I just don't get it, I'm doing it all by the book.
The eggs that are left are all looking good, blood vessels nice and bright, lots of movement inside, 3 of them are due in the next day or so, 2 of them aren't due until 7th april (i messed up and put them in at different times, hence the second incubator).
Someone suggested that as I'm new to this that the temperature is probably wrong etc as the incubators are probably cheap etc. My big incubator is an R-com 20 and the temp is set at 37.5C and the humidity at 55. The hatching one is a Brinsea Mini Advance, I keep the water topped up in the water thing in the middle and was advised to lightly mist once a day with warm water, the temp is set at 37C. What am I doing wrong. It was heartbreaking to open up 4 bad eggs with dead ducklings in.
Advice please
sad.png

Although it has just occured to me that the misting bottle used to have non toxic stuff in it, which I washed out lots before I used it, could this have maybe not have been as clean as I thought? Maybe I poisoned the poor little mites?

I wish I had more info to help you, but I had the same thing happen to me several times. I don't know how to hatch!
hit.gif

And I tried to hatch for 2 years... I just can't seem to do it!

But, I have been ordering from Ideal and have had good luck. They're not "show quality", but they are all healthy and I'm happy.

Sorry...