Recommend an incubator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Just a Country Girl, Apr 14, 2009.

1. Just a Country Girl

Just a Country Girl Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2009
    N.H.
    I'm a beginner on hatching eggs and would like some recommendations on a good incubator that I can just plug in, set and add eggs of all types. Something in the 3 to $400 range

2. SundownWaterfowl

SundownWaterfowl Overrun With Chickens

Brinsea Octagon 40. Temps stays stable and doesnt fluctuate with the room temp. Works great. Always get amazing hatches when I use it.

3. walkswithdog

walkswithdog Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 17, 2008
    DC Region
    If I had that money I'd buy a Dickey, or save a little more and buy a dickey. You can shell that out for a brinsea and have a minor fraction of the capacity you'd get with a dickey. While a large bator sounds like TOO much at first. BELIEVE me, once you're hooked on hatching the larger capacity bators are the way to go.

If you'll never ever want to hatch more than 20 - 40 eggs then sure brinsea works. Good bator.

But if I'm shelling out a few hundred, being able to hatch a few hundred makes more sense to me for the same money.

Mr. Dickey makes a gorgeous and well built bator, that is excellent and well recommended here and other places. There's also the nice facet of dealing with a small private company run by a very friendly gentleman, who will talk to you in person about what you need and want.

I build my own now, when I have it saved up, I want a dickey.

4. Just a Country Girl

Mar 1, 2009
    N.H.
    Is that what you use for your Calls?

5. SundownWaterfowl

SundownWaterfowl Overrun With Chickens

Quote:Yup, and I always get great hatches. So far this year I have gotten 3 out of 4 call duck eggs to hatch. 4, 100% salmon faverolle hatches, and 3, 100% light brahma hatches.

6. pascopol

pascopol Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2009
    Tampa Bay