Red Ranger Meat Chickens 2 Weeks Old Dying - HELP! In Georgia

redrangerfan

Hatching
5 Years
Sep 8, 2014
I bought 50 Red Ranger meat birds from Mcmurray. They all arrived looking good, none died in transit. After day 3 they were all looking great. I awoke the next morning and found one dead directly under the heat lamp. I checked the temp it was 100 degrees! The rest of the birds were ok in the 64 sq ft circular brooder.

I adjusted the temp and beat myself up a little about it. But thought this is my first time so I guess one has to learn. Two days later I awoke and I found another dead bird! This time this bird was on the outskirts of the heat lamp, temp was 88 degrees roughly. I brought the temp up 2 degrees, removed the bird that showed no sign of butt pasting or anything else. From what I can tell their poop looks like normal chick poop.

An hour or so later I heard a loud chirp, a distressed chirp and one more bird had died and was on it''s back wings and legs straight out! It seemed like it had a stroke and just keeled over.

OK I'm paranoid! I know there are higher mortality rates with hybrids like the Red Ranger, so I expect to lose some and I never prepared myself what that would look like or what to expect.

* They have plenty of space, the temps have not been perfect but the rest of the flock looked fine.

* They have clean water twice daily and I am feeding them Country time organic starter feed.

* 2-3 inches of pine shavings changed 1 time weekly - Do I need to change this more often?

* They were not vaccinated as I was wanting to go as Organic as possible.

Is there anyone out there who can help me with this? Am I just paranoid? Or should I be looking for something more here....

When I start losing chicks like I that suspect cocci. You can treat with sulmet or corrid. Although with them coming straight from the hatchery and I'm assuming they haven't been around other birds, it's odd that they would get it. Not unheard of though.