Rescued turkey-tom or hen?

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by grandmachicken, Nov 4, 2009.

1. grandmachicken

grandmachicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 15, 2008
    Williamson, GA
    My loving husband brought home a turkey from animal control. No idea where he came from, how old, etc. He is very tame and sweet, follows my chickens around the property. All the old-timers say it must be a tom because it has a beard, about 2 inches long. I've never seen him flare his tail, but he's also not around any females, and he's very submissive, especially to the 12 chickens he lives with. Also his snood is just a little button on his nose. So . . . tom or hen?

Thanks in advance,

Christi

[​IMG]

2. ArizonaNessa

ArizonaNessa Joyfully Addicted

Apr 7, 2009
    Texas
    I am going to vote female but I am no turkey expert and might be wrong. As far as that beard goes all my turkeys have that and I have 5 females. 2 royal palms and 3 bourbon reds. Toms will flare in defense as well. Got a dog? Put it on a leash and walk it by the turkey. If it is a male I can almost promise it will flare. You know now that I think about it my females puff up pretty big if you make them angry but it still don't look like a tom does.

Last edited: Nov 4, 2009
  3. spectrumranch

spectrumranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Looks like a tom to me.

4. bargain

bargain Love God, Hubby & farm Premium Member

Apr 13, 2008
    Bowdon, GA
    Well, must show to my hubby cause he's in charge of our 50 turkeys,,,,,but I say Tom!!!!! He looks to be bronze and fairly young, maybe about 4 months....If he starts getting lonely in the spring, be sure and come see us and get him a mate. I'm glad you rescued him!

Come see us when you can...we're in West Georgia!
    Have a blessed day!

5. bargain

bargain Love God, Hubby & farm Premium Member

Apr 13, 2008
    Bowdon, GA
    Hi, me again, just went to your website and love the veterinary info link there....

Anyway you could add one for poultry info...