Rooster help

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by beegirl4, Aug 5, 2014.

1. beegirl4

beegirl4 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 19, 2011
    I'm sure this has been discussed numerous times....sorry.
    I'm new to chickens. Earlier this year, I purchased some pullets. Needless to say, my Buff Orpington is not a hen, it's a rooster. He is beautiful and very nice with people and my dominique, but he is aggressive to my 3 others. They are petrified of him and when they free range (every day), they hide about 8 feet up in the trees ALL DAY. They never come down and we literally have to shake the tree to get them down at night. I have been keeping them in a separate coop...Am I making it worse? My husband thinks I am absolutely insane spending all this time separating them....I know a rooster should have more than 4 hens. I'd like a find new home for the roo, but it seems hard to do....so far no takers.
    Any advice would be great.

2. iwiw60

iwiw60 Overrun With Chickens

Jan 27, 2014
    Central Oregon
    If your roo is making life miserable for your other 3 hens then me personally? I say it's time to go bye-bye, whether via giving him away or the stew pot. What a shame those 3 hens have to spend their day up in a tree instead of being...well...a chicken! Put an ad on Craigs List or call the SPCA in your area....wishing you well!

3. beegirl4

Nov 19, 2011
    Oh geez- thanks. I was hoping that it was going to just get better. I wonder if I get a few more hens if he will be more distracted? (My husband will kill me...lol) I have two small coops and today I left the hens in their run and let Henry out to free range. He has been circling the girls coop all day. I haven't seen him move more than a foot away. Am I making him crazy? Can they live like that ? I'm guessing not. It's the same situation if they are in a tree though- he stays right under in case one falls and then he goes nuts!

4. ShockValue

ShockValue Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 10, 2010