Rooster infidelity, hen aprons, and moving on after loss.

Saum Creek

Songster
Jun 24, 2019
Oregon
Hi everyone. I am pretty new to chickens and have a couple strange questions - I hope this is the right place!

A bit of backstory: in May of last year we hatched chicks at the school where I work and I ended up with a personal flock of one rooster and 3 lovely hens. Due to hubris on my end and just terrible luck I lost my two cuddliest to a raccoon several weeks ago, days before they turned 1. Since then it's just been Bluebarb, my rooster, and Marilla, my one remaining hen. Here is a photo, just because I think they're cute:

00100lrPORTRAIT_00100_BURST20200609175355311_COVER.jpg

Anyway, I picked up 6 chicks at the local farm store and my chicken run is currently being renovated by a professional. In the meantime, both of my chickens have lost their minds. In risk of sounding crazy, here are my questions:

1. Marilla now refuses to lay an egg anywhere except for her ex-dust bathing spot right outside my front door. She will literally hold it and scream bloody murder until I let her out and she runs around front like she's about to pee her pants. What does this mean??

2. When I lost the other hens I immediately purchased a hen apron for Marilla because she was already a favorite and getting a bit thin on the back. After I put it on, Bluebarb basically stopped showing interest in Marilla. Instead he has been running off to a coop on the other side of campus and flirting with the hens there, abandoning Marilla wherever he happens to leave her. I don't know if this was caused by the hen apron or the lost of the two other hens, but after I took the apron off last night, well.... today he stuck with her and actually came back to roost way earlier than he has been, with Marilla.