Runner duck cant stand or tuck legs

moodlymoo

Songster
8 Years
Aug 23, 2011
Portland OR
Poor Phineas, we think she injured her hips coming out of the chicken coop where my son found her laying in the mud on her tummy. Both her legs go back behind her and she cant tuck them under her or stand on them. She is resting in a warm cozy crate in the house with food, water, and a towel to prop her up. I hope our baby girl makes it. She was our first duck. Please help if you have any ideas

I am so sorry to hear about your Phineas...I was looking for other posts about injured ducks because we also have an injured duck (Hoppy) who we have separated in a warm dry spot in the barn...she has swelling and redness in her right leg. She got run over in a "duck stampede" through the enclosure door one morning.

What ever advice anyone has for Phineas and Hoppy I would be grateful for. Can ducks have an anit-inflammatory? I am a nurse. I know what I would do for a human sprain/injury...but for a duck? Not really sure....

Thanks in advance...

Dot