Sand and Grit question

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by JusticeFamilyFarm, Jun 2, 2011.

1. JusticeFamilyFarm

JusticeFamilyFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2011
    Southern California
    Ok, I am very new to all of this and I am realizing that I hadn't researched as much on the feed as I should have. I have my chicks on medicated starter mash, but was reading about giving treats. Then I came across talk of needing or not needing grit with certain foods. Also, I have seen sand mentioned as well. Is sand what you give small chicks, since it is fine, and grit is for older chicks/full grown chickens? And do they always need it, or only when they can't free range (like now, since my chicks are still in the brooder)? Am I correct that the chicks don't need sand or grit when they are just on starter or layer pellets (later), but if they are eating bugs or other treats/foods they will need it? What type of sand? Thank you so much and sorry for my cluelessness! [​IMG]

2. JusticeFamilyFarm

JusticeFamilyFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2011
    Southern California
    LOL... wow, that must have been posted while I was typing mine up! [​IMG] So, putting sand in the brooder for the chicks- sand from outside, or bought sand, like playground sand? I've seen posts about using playground sand for the run/coop- so is that also what I'd need for the brooder as chick grit? Thanks so much!

3. Medicine Man

Medicine Man Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 21, 2010
    Apple Hill
    I use "peep grit", a bit larger than sand, and increase size from there. My feed store carries this in bulk, it's super cheap, and I keep a bowl full - just as with oyster shell (or crushed eggshells, if that's your fancy).

4. geekgurl

geekgurl Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Dallas, TX