1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Should I get ducks?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ldutch123, Dec 9, 2011.

1. ldutch123

ldutch123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2011
    Illinois
    I have a large pond on my property and it happens to be in a 1 acre fenced area. I'm new to chickens and I have about 39 of them and love them. I thought hmm I wonder if I should raise ducks just to have? Is there a Reason people raise ducks other than for meat? Any and all advice is appreciated.

2. Tivona

Tivona Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 2, 2011
    Oregon
    There are lots of reasons for keeping ducks and/or chickens. I don't raise mine for meat. I have Golden 300 hybrids and they are awesome egg layers, outlaying a chicken. I like the taste of their eggs better too. I also have them for slug and snail control in my garden.
    Maybe someone else and give advice on the pond thing. Seems to me that it would be great as long as you can get them locked up at night. Too many predators would love a ducky snack to leave them unprotected in most areas. Raccoons, opossums, bobcats, and mountain lions in my area and I have seen them all next to the coop over the years. Just the scent of chickens or ducks is enough to lure them to your birds. And all of those have no problem getting over or under a normal fence.

3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Welcome to the brink of Duckdom!

[​IMG]

First, may I offer the stickie, 101 Reasons We Love Ducks [​IMG]

Next, from my limited experience and from reading a number of posts here on the Duck Forum, ponds are not needed for ducks (though some seem to feel that ducks are needed for ponds), and in fact may be dangerous places, depending on the pond.