Sick duck!! Help needed!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by DuckyGurl, Mar 18, 2013.

1. DuckyGurl

DuckyGurl Overrun With Chickens

I bought a call duck yesterday at a swap, and quarantined her in my garage for awhile to make sure she isn't sick. Well, I thought she was hissing at me earlier, but when I got her out of the cage her bill was wet-ish, but not all over. Just under her nostrils. And it looked like there was some fluid or something in her nostrils, because when she was breathing there were little 'bubbles' as she exhaled. She rests a lot, but I thought that was just because she was in a small cage, not much room to do anything.
    Help please!

2. jdywntr

jdywntr Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    Somerville, AL
    Check this http://www.majesticwaterfowl.org/diagnostic chart.htm Use it as a reference only. Just because she has a symptom doesn't mean she has the illness associated with it.

I am not good with illnesses. You should keep her quarantined for at least 30 days. Make sure she has something that she can dip her head in constantly to clear any blockage.

3. DuckyGurl

Well, it's hard to match the symptoms on that chart. :/ thank you though.
    Anyone else? She is acting the same today, but I noticed it is more so when she gets nervous, if I'm around or holding her, and such. And I noticed her tail is slightly clamped. Could it just be a respiratory thing, or maybe stress from moving???? Any help is appreciated greatly!

4. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Could be a number of things, so here's what I would do.

Get her into a lukewarm bath - that may help her relax, it's good for circulation, the moist air may help her breathing, and you can see how she moves, if she moves.