Sitting?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by devans87, Jul 27, 2008.

1. devans87

devans87 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 15, 2008
    Dallas
    Still new to the chicken thing. So How long after the hen lays the eggs will she start sitting on them if she is going to?? I have 2 hens and a roo. dont know if the eggs are "Fertilized" (guess thats the word I'm looking for) [​IMG] But if they are and the hen is going to sit on them, I'm going to leave them in there for her so I can possibly get some "little en's" Any info is appreciated.

2. WestKnollAmy

WestKnollAmy The Crazy Chicken Lady Premium Member

Apr 22, 2008
    upstate SC
    If you are wanting to hatch some eggs (and I am no expert but have done it a few times) then gather some as they are laid and put them in a cool, dark place. Not the fridge, that's too cold. But I would collect for a week and if your hen doesn't start setting on the nest and staying there, then I eat the eggs and start gathering again.
    When she does start going broody, she will stay on the nest, sort of spread her wings out and sometimes growl when you get close. That's when I put the eggs under her.
    It's an awesome experience. I never use an incubator, only my hens.
    I have one sitting now and fortunately I have a new breed and wanted to hatch some eggs out so she is getting them all. She can sit on 8 comfortably but she is a banty.

3. Chirpy

Chirpy Balderdash

May 24, 2007
    Colorado
    It seems that most hens don't go broody until they are around a year old. There are always exceptions of course. It just seems that people on here tend to say that their broody is about a year old when she starts sitting. I've heard people say that their hen went broody within a month of starting to lay also. So ????? who knows?