Smelly, wet run! Help!

shorkie16

Hatching
5 Years
May 9, 2014
Going to try to keep this short. I'm a chicken newbie and decided to go with a chicken tractor instead of building a coop. Turns out they don't work well on sloped yards (husband tried to tell me!). In order to even it up, we built a chicken "deck" and put the whole tractor on it, making it permanent. The birds run loose in the yard all day but the problem I'm having is the run has wood chips in it and it STINKS after it rains. Plus it has turned into huge, clumpy mess. Should I try to clean it out and let them walk on the bare wood in the run? I can't stand the smell, and they are only in there at night and in the mornings. I've heard pros and cons about sand.

Going to try to keep this short. I'm a chicken newbie and decided to go with a chicken tractor instead of building a coop. Turns out they don't work well on sloped yards (husband tried to tell me!). In order to even it up, we built a chicken "deck" and put the whole tractor on it, making it permanent. The birds run loose in the yard all day but the problem I'm having is the run has wood chips in it and it STINKS after it rains. Plus it has turned into huge, clumpy mess. Should I try to clean it out and let them walk on the bare wood in the run? I can't stand the smell, and they are only in there at night and in the mornings. I've heard pros and cons about sand.

I would just replace the wood chips with new ones once they get smelly.

Hi I have seen a product for chicken runs made from tyre rubber shaped into large pellets, it can be hosed down with water and a poultry safe disinfectant as often as needed and lasts for years and is none toxic.
I can't remember what it is called but have seen it in poultry magazines.