Sneezing and coughing/rattling sound

hunter1hall

Songster
10 Years
Apr 28, 2009
Mackville, Kentucky
I have several 15 week old chicks sneezing and some have developed a cough/rattling sound. Its hard to describe the sound. They are all eating and drinking well and dont seem to be lethargic. However the sneezing has progressed to this new symptom. Their is no discernable discharge from the nostrils and there are no other apparant symptoms. I feed medicated chick starter to them. Any thoughts on what it might be and how I should treat? The affected birds are black copper marans and blue orpingtons.

Hi, I'm no expert, but had this last year when the weather got cooler. I used VetRX, just a couple drops in their nose and under their wings. It's sort of like Vicks for chickens. Chickens can catch a cold like us humans!

Also, I would consider putting them on antibiotics for 7-10 days. I usually give oxytetracycline in their drinking water. make sure it is the only water the sick chicks have access to. It could be CRD, so you should isolate the ones that have symptoms! Hope this helps! Best of luck!

Very weird to see this today. I have 3 BCM's and some Welsumers and Barnevelders, a few others, they are close to 18 weeks old. About two weeks ago I noticed one of my favorite BCM's with this gurgleing sound while she was breathing and sneezing now and then, and maybe a cough sometimes.

I watched the flock, 14 chickens, and saw a second BCM with some gurgleing, but the third BCM was not. I tried antibiotics in their feed for about 2 weeks now and I also put some soluble Tetracycline in their water for 5 days. It's two weeks now and one of my Blue Laced Red Wyandottes is sneezing this morning and some gurgleing sounds.