Some notes on apple cider vinegar (and when to use baking soda instead)...

GruveyChickens

In the Brooder
Apr 24, 2016
Mid-Michigan
I'm new to chickens and have been reading like mad learning everything I can about these wondrous little critters. Lately I've been reading about apple cider vinegar and baking soda (sodium bicarbonate) and how they benefit our backyard chickens. Here's some information I've learned that I thought I would share for those looking for the same info.

I'm sure many of you know all of this already, but for those just starting out, perhaps it will be useful.
smile.png
(And please feel free to add corrections and additional information as I'm always open to learning in order to create a happy, healthy life for my chickens.
wink.png
)

Apple Cider Vinegar

HOW MUCH TO USE:

Apple cider vinegar (ACV) is suggested for use at the rate of 1 Tbs. per gallon of water (double the amount of ACV if you have hard water). Ultimately, you want the pH of drinking water to be around 4 after adding ACV. Adding too much ACV can cause chickens to stop drinking, so be sure to keep your ratios in check.

KINDS OF ACV: