Some questions about incubating eggs...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by amynbrent, Mar 12, 2012.

1. amynbrent

amynbrent Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2011
    Dryden, MI
    I have been incubating eggs for several months now and have never had an issue so I was never prepared for things that could go wrong. Last weekend we had some major winds, we were not home so our neighbor called and said power was going in and out. When we got home only one clock was flashing all the others were correct. My bater seemed fine to, temp and humidity fine. Tomorrow is day 21 and by now the eggs usually move or you can hear chirping....nothing. Also I have never made it to day 21, they all hatched day 19 & 20. I candled them before lock down and some were bad, a few looked good and a few iffy. How long do I wait past day 21? Also this is the first time I used an egg turner and during the developement of these eggs and they didnt look how they normally do to me, I dont know if this is because they develop different standing up in the turner than they do laying down. I have never lost any chicks and I'm afraid this time I might. I also have some more in another incubator that go on lock down tomorrow.

2. Abacus

Abacus Out Of The Brooder

what kind of incubator do you use? If you use the cheap styrofoam ones, then you might have lost them with the power going in and out. They are NOT good at keeping temps during storms/cold weather. I used them last year and did okay...then fired them up this year and it was AWFUL! One set I was doing great with...then I got sick.....and lost the WHOLE batch because the temp in the house dropped and I was too sick to do anything about it (old drafty farmhouse). Now I use a cabinet incubator and it works WONDERS.