1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Starting a new flock

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by CLKristi, Jan 3, 2011.

1. CLKristi

CLKristi New Egg

Jan 3, 2011
    Hi - I'm brand new to the sight and brand new to raising chickens. I will be purchasing about 5-6 5 month old laying hens from our local feed store. I have had two offers to donate a rooster to me. One is an unknown breed 9 mos. old rooster and the other is a 4 mos. old Americana rooster. Would it work OK for me to bring the rooster in at the same time as the hens? Also, I want to purchase several different breeds of hens - my priority is laying hens. Recommendations on laying hens? If the hens haven't been together already, can they just go in together at 5 mos. old? Thanks.

2. BigIslandChicks

BigIslandChicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2010
    [​IMG] from hawaii!! [​IMG]

there are lots of breeds to choose from... check out the breed index on byc.s main page - lots of great info and pictures for most every breed available.
    good beginner chickens that are going to be for eggs would be barred rocks or any of the reds or hybrid layers (black star, sexlink etc...)my BR were my 1st chickens and they are wonderful, curious, sweet and never give me any trouble going back into the coop at night....unlike some of my other chickens [​IMG] that like to give me a hard time!! we wont name names [​IMG] *lol those breeds will be easy to get from the feed store bc they most likely order from a large hatchery standard breeds. other great layers are leghorns and australorps.