Still air vs. Forced air .......

P0U1TRYP3RS0N

Songster
12 Years
Mar 11, 2007
I received a Little Giant 9200 still air incubator and turner for Christmas. They also bought me the fan kit. I turned it on today and am debating over whether to install the fan kit or not. It says "to be installed by electrician". I am no electrician, and am afraid I'll ruin the heating elements by incorrectly installing it. I have never had a forced air incubator before. I've used still air hovabators. I had o.k hatches.... about five or six chicks each hatch (out of about 30 eggs). SO, If you have a little Giant 9200, did you install the fan or not? Is it worth it? Any tips for operating a L.G 9200? Thanks!

i own and use 5 lgs no fan no turner and my hatches have been from 55%to 98 % you just have to use them where there are drafts and the temperteures hold fairly steady

I just bought a LG 9200 and I am as we speak hatching my first eggs in it. I would have to give this a thumbs up. I didn't like it at first because it was so hard to get the temp steady. But once I did, I haven't had any problem with it. It is holding strong at 101.4. I have the still air with the turner and I am impressed! Alote of people on here do not like it, so it really depends on the person. GOODLUCK!

When I bought mine and got the fan it wasn't very difficult to install and it worked perfectly well. That was 10 years ago and I have no idea how they are packaged these days but back then it was simple and no electrician necessary or claimed to be necessary by the instructions.

Well, I installed the fan kit tonight......After cutting through the wrong cords
hit.gif
barnie.gif
(the ones leading to the heatin elements), realizing what I 'd done and crying , then realized that the cords really couldn't be severed because the whole thing wouldn't work, and then ripping the little blue connector box open to pull the cords out to inspect the damage--although the insulation was cut, the wires appear to be intact