Taking care of new hatchlings

sonjab314

Constant State of Confusion
13 Years
May 15, 2010
Missouri
I have 10 Silver Appleyard eggs that are going into lockdown on the 15th. This is my first time hatching ducks. Does the humidity need to be higher than compared to chickens during lockdown? How do I take care of them after they hatch? Can they stay in the bator 2 days like chicks can? Any advice for a duck newbie? Thanks in advance.

I have my humidity around 70 - 80 % during lockdown at the moment - as it is winter here I have the heater on in the house and my eggs are all drier it seems so I have been running the humidity high. Ot does depend alot on the climate and temperature where you live- and different people have different methods they use.
I usually find 24 hours is the longest I can leave my ducklings in the incubator after hatch- usually less than that as they really do tend to run amok in there once hatched.
After they hatch they can be brooded like chickens...But they need access to deeper water to be able to keep thier nostrils and eyes clean. But not so deep they may get into the container and not get out again. I give mine a small plastic container with half the lid cut off for the first few days- sp They cant actually get into the water- but can still get their heads in a fair way.
Ducklings are a lot messier than chickens- finding ways to minimise water wastage on the brooder floor will help.