temperature requirments & nipples

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by NNYLeghorns, May 30, 2010.

1. NNYLeghorns

NNYLeghorns New Egg

May 30, 2010
    Norther New York
    Hello to all,

This is my first time posting but been researching on here for days. This site is AWESOME!

I live in Northern New York State, temperature gets to -30F, and was wondering if insulation would be sufficient enough warmth and a single heat lamp 60"x43"x48". Can I do without heat lamp? At what temperature can they not go outside because of the cold?

Also, about the nipples if you were all wondering, where can I find the nipples to use in construction of homemade water bucket?

Thanks for all the help in advance

Last edited: May 30, 2010
  2. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    Quote:I live in Connecticut and temps don't get much below the teens very often here and we use a 250 watt, red heat lamp in our coop in the winter. I think it is important that you get cold hardy birds for your location. There are varying opinions on whether you can do without a heat lamp even with cold hardy birds, but at thirty below, I would use one.

As for nipple waterers, I bought mine at FarmTek, here's the link: img/smilies/welcome-byc.gif" alt="welcome-byc" />">http://www.farmtek.com/farm/supplies/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10052&storeId=10001&langId=-1&division=FarmTek&productId=17664

[​IMG]
    I assure you, you WILL spend many, many more days researching on this site! Welcome!

3. Boo-Boo's Mama

Boo-Boo's Mama Chillin' With My Peeps

4. funfeatheredfeet

funfeatheredfeet Out Of The Brooder

Apr 30, 2010
    The Beautiful Ozarks
    Hi! I bought 12 nipples from QC Supply (google the site online). It was the best price I found and cost me $20.00 included priority shipping. Great business, fast delivery! My chickens took to them in just a few days. Good luck!

5. patandchickens