the making of a hybrid bird

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by cultivar, Dec 4, 2012.

1. cultivar

cultivar New Egg

Dec 4, 2012
    hi, i'm new to the forum and i'm curious to know a bit more about hybrid meat birds, i understand that many lines are used to create consistant results, obviously the lines used are tested to see if they nick but what i'm wondering is by what means are the parental lines selected or what are the points that the lines idealy should have, eg: female line= quick growth male line = large breast, I'm new to meat birds have bred laying stock all my life and realise diffrent things need to be taken into account, i also dont expect to acheive the quality of a cornish x but would like to know what are the best points or signs of a bird when selecting breeding stock, maybe theres someone here who works in a hatchery that may have an insight to the breeding?

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    :frow Welcome to the forum! :frow Glad you joined us! :frow

I don't have the expertise you are looking for but thought you might enjoy this video.

Broiler Chicken Videos

As far as traits to look for, I'll give a non-expert opinion.

Pounds of feed to pounds of meat ratio has to be high on the list.

Look for the conformation you want. Do you prefer white meat or dark?

Do you pluck or skin? If you skin it does not matter, but if you pluck you probably want a white or buff bird. You always leave pin feathers behind when you pluck. With the dark feathers they are very visible but with light feathers you don't see them. You get a prettier carcass with light feathers. If you butcher when they are molting this becomes much more important.

The last I would consider is temperment. How well do they handle confinement if you are keeping them confined. Or are there other behavioral traits you want?