Thinking About Getting New Chickens that "Scratch Less"

JessRoll

Hatching
7 Years
Jul 1, 2012
Hi,

I am fairly new to chickens. We have 2 Americaunas and 1 Golden campine that are about 1 year old that we got about 4 months ago. They are a lot more problematic than I thought they would be.. We have had problems with noise, roaming too far and destructive scratching.

We have 1/2 acre in Marin County California that I would like to allow them to free-range on, but it is on an unstable hillside and they were really ripping it up after a few months (and roaming too far). Since then I have penned them in a 12' x 4' pen except for about 1 hour a day. They are acclimating and don't seem to mind being penned (at first they were REALLY loud). I would still prefer to let them free-range more since that is what they really love.

Anyhow, we are going to take some measure to get the hillside secured with plantings and netting this winter, but are considering finding these current chickens a good home and then getting new chickens that are reputed to scratch less in a few months.

The tough part about this decision is that I really like these chickens and they are working out nicely now. I feel like it might be a mistake to go for other chickens if it doesn't really make that much difference in the amount of scratching and destructiveness.

The breeds I am considering are pekin or chochin bantam and brahmas.

Can you guys help? I just can't seem to decide what to do!

Jess

all 50 (ok i own like 18 of these 50) of our chickens scratch its natural for them to do its how they kick up dirt for bath's, it keeps their nails sharp to defend against predators, and its how they find bugs. my biggest scratchers are my cochins and braham (and i only keep bantams) . ive never heard of a breed that didnt scratch as much i would like to know what others have noticed in their breeds as well on this subject