Thoughts on What Went Wrong!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Sunnyducks, Sep 3, 2016.

1. Sunnyducks

Sunnyducks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2016
    Hi all - just wondering if there is any advice out there for me - on a very steep learning curve. Today is day 24 for one dozen eggs, and finally I have two chicks that have hatched 3 days later than I expected. I'm a real beginner so I wonder whether anyone has any advice.

@Yorkshire Coop drew my attention to possible temperature issues slowing them (thank you!) but I'd be grateful for any more advice as I'm picking up silkie eggs later today and I really want to avoid the same poor hatch rate if it's something I'm doing - or not doing.

Out of 12 eggs, there was one late dead in shell, I found a pip but the chick was dead. Then two successful hatchings, and the others are clear, no question. So I'm wondering what was the most likely reason.

The eggs were all really dirty including the ones that hatched.
    I moved the incubator out to the shed after hatched 3 out of 6 ducks last month. It's noisy, and it seemed like a good idea at the time. It was near a window and there are wide fluctuations in the heat in the shed. The incubator seems surprisingly accurate in temperature and humidity whenever I've checked it. But if that was the cause, would it not have affected all of them?
    Could it have been that most if not all of the other 9 weren't fertile in the first place?

I'm getting the silkie eggs from someone else locally, and I just want to try to get everything right. I'll be moving the incubator back indoors so at least I can avoid the temperature fluctuations of outside night/day temps. I'm just confused why only 3 got started and the others didn't?

Thank you in advance, and grateful for your help.

2. AustralorpsAU

AustralorpsAU Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2016
    Down Under