Today my chicken is wheezing and she has a sort of tick like movement

angiew

In the Brooder
9 Years
Feb 4, 2010
Yesterday I noticed she was coughing or sneezing. So today I managed to catch her (she is fast) and seperate her from the rest of my girls. I noticed she has a sort of wheezing to her breathing and also she shakes her head alot. I tried to look for lice or mites but could not really see anything plus she was not very happy about being captured. I got this chicken about 6 months ago, she was rescued from a forclosed farm and that started my chicken habit. I am still very new to this whole chicken thing so any advise would be greatly appreciated. I'm totally loving my new chicken life and worry that she will get worse. I went to the feed store and they told me to put tetracycline in her water, but I'm not too fond of using antibiotics especially when I dont even know what I am treating. Please help if you can:(

My gut reaction is gapeworm, which can be cured quickly with Ivermectin (easy to get at feedstores). It is a worm that attaches itself to the trachea (breathing tube) in the chicken, and causes gasping and head shaking. I'm not sure of the dose to give her, hopefully you can search this site for it, it is a relatively common problem.

Are her eyes and nostrils clear? No discharge from them? No swelling in the facial skin? You didn't mention it, so I assume it's not happening. That's why I thought of gapeworm. Good luck!

I replied to your other post on this bird, but wanted to respond to this post, specifically regarding your statement:

"I went to the feed store and they told me to put tetracycline in her water, but I'm not too fond of using antibiotics especially when I don't even know what I am treating."