Tomorrow's the day, scared excited and have tones of questions

KristyHall

Crowing
8 Years
Jan 27, 2011
North Alabama
so tomorrow is 7 days after I put in the duck eggs so I'll be putting in the chicken eggs. Should I candle the duck eggs to see if they are developing?
This is my first time using an incubator. Before I always let the mamas do the work. But it can be hard on them and I like keeping their feathered butts free to keep my garden picked clean of pests.
Also, I have more chicken eggs than I need, and they are all sooo lovely and I am having a hard time picking. I think I'll put in a variety of sizes and colors, though I won't be putting in the long narrow ones.

Ok check list
Humidity well not sure of the percentage I filled in the pan the machine told my to fill in and then before lock down i'm suppose to fill in the second fan. It's one of those simple , hand holding, does-all-the-work for you, incubators.
Temperature,100 degrees
fan, check
egg turner, working
eggs... well lots of them

Excitement... through the roof! Eeeeee!
BTW what is the usual hatching rate in an incubator? anyone know?

If you candle those duck eggs now- you should be able to see very clearly the vein network and little embryo if the eggs are good. If you are not to sure about any- leave them an extra day or two and then discard them- better to err on the side of caution- but dont leave them in long enough for them to go rotten- you wouldnt want to have to clean that mess out of your new bator.

Something you may - or may not have heard - is that ducks eggs do better laying on their sides being rolled over for turning rather than upright. It can be restrictive- to those who work or are away form home a lot- but I have always found hand turning gives better results.